Concerto for Tuba and Piano GARY ZIEK

Composer: Ziek, Gary

Instrument: Piano, Tuba

Publisher: Cimarron Music Press

I – Soaring 

II – Romance 

III – Riot! 

The Concerto for Tuba and Wind Ensemble was written for Alan Baer in January of 2011. It was written for Mr. Baer’s appearance with the Emporia State University Wind Ensemble. 

The work is in three movements, each reflecting different facets of the tuba as a solo instrument.  Movement 1, Soaring, starts with a series of tuba fanfares, alternating with responses from the ensemble.  The mood becomes increasingly agitated leading to the first full ensemble impact.  The music gradually transforms to a slower, more lyrical statement of the initial tuba melody.  This passage abruptly segues into a faster section comprising the majority of the first movement.  This section utilizes a sonata form (ABA), with the tuba soaring above the ensemble, with numerous lyrical episodes.  The movement comes to a rousing conclusion with final statements of the melody being sounded in the woodwinds.  Movement 2, Romance, begins with a gentle, flowing Siciliano.  This leads to a waltz, which requires considerable lyricism and agility from the soloist.  The Siciliano returns as the movement ends in a moment of quiet repose.  This contemplative mood is abruptly shattered by the beginning of the 3rd movement, Riot!  Dissonant pyramids of sound, based on the Dies Irae, set the stage for this movement, which can best be described as a five part “blues rondo”.  Driving rhythms and furious, challenging tuba lines are found throughout this movement.  The soloist has a short cadenza, leading to a 12/8 feel and coda, bringing the piece to a rousing conclusion    GDZ 2011

Write a review

Concerto for Tuba and Piano GARY ZIEK

  • 19.99€
  • Ex Tax: 19.22€

Express Checkout

If you have an Amazon or Paypal account already, yo can make your order with just a few clicks. Register steps are not necessary, we will delivery your order to your stored address there.

Personal Atention

From Pro Musicians

Money Back Warranty

(see conditions)


Secure Payment

100% secure Gateways